(The) Ohio State University c/o 2019

Hello all!

My name is Kathrine and this is my very first blog post to Destination Doctor! I hope that what I write on this blog will help to provide perspective into veterinary school.

I am a rising third year at (the) Ohio State University and have two dogs. I moved to Ohio from Colorado for vet school and it’s definitely been an interesting journey so far. Right now, I’m interested in pursuing radiology (x-ray, ultrasound, CT, MRI) though that has not always been the case. In high school, I wanted to be an orthopedic surgeon because I shadowed at a specialty practice and got the chance to see many surgeries. Then in undergrad I did research on dairy cows and spent time on a sheep farm during lambing season. I fell in love with both species so I decided I actually wanted to be a large animal veterinarian. After some experience in veterinary school my interest has now shifted to radiology. At the heart of it I love anatomy, which is what drew me to orthopedic surgery first then radiology. But at the moment, the thought of 4-5 more years of training once I graduate seems daunting. My plan is to survive the next two years of veterinary school and, at the very least, be a doctor then figure it out from there. I’ve heard from many practicing veterinarians that what they set out to do in the beginning of their career is not what they ended up doing which gives me hope. It’s all about being open minded to the many possibilities that vet med has to offer.

Leave a Reply

