Giving up.

For anyone who has applied to Veterinary (or Medical) school multiple times, I’m sure you’ve thought about giving up a time or two. I’m on my fourth cycle of applying to veterinary school, and after every rejection there’s always the question: do I keep trying? Is it worth it? Am I really okay with putting my life on “hold” another year to go after this dream that may never happen?

fuck it

I’m sure many other students have had these same thoughts, and some do decide to give up. However, something I have learned in my M.S. program is many of us don’t give up; we keep trying. We try to improve our applications. Some people will even enter the workforce and continue to apply.

I’ve been asked a few times why I haven’t given up, what draws me back to filling out the VMCAS every year? The truth is, I don’t know for certain, but I think being a doctor of veterinary medicine has ingrained itself into my identity to the extent that I am willing to keep having that feeling of rejection because I know once I do finally get in, once I am finally accepted somewhere that I will be able to make it through the academic rigors and become a great veterinarian. I think that belief is key to making it through multiple cycles, if there’s any doubt it’ll discourage you from further applications.

don't give up

I know quite a few veterinarians who I consider to be awesome doctors, who had to apply multiple times, so a rejection from veterinary school is in no way a reflection of how good of a doctor you will become. So if you’re in that stage of your application that you don’t know whether you should try again, or maybe you’re discouraged from the last cycle, and know you want to be a doctor: sign in to VMCAS and start again!  Do what you can to improve your application, and make sure to include everything that’s happened since your last application. If you were ready to give up you would have already done so.

As one of my very favorite veterinarians (and mentor) has said several times to me: Keep on truckin’!

disney

Leave a comment